Why every Christian, including fundamentalists and literalists, should approve of same-sex marriage.

Why every Christian, including fundamentalists and literalists, should approve of same-sex marriage..

About frpip

Priest, Dad, A long way away. You can call me Father Father Father.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why every Christian, including fundamentalists and literalists, should approve of same-sex marriage.

  1. Katy T-S says:

    Hi Pip, Since you specifically ask for feedback I will give you some! In terms of being ‘prophetic’, I suppose that means spreading some kind of new message to people from God. The Church certainly is called to do this, but the ‘new message’ is not about slavery, or gay marriage, or any other ‘issue’- the new message is the Gospel! It may not seem ‘new’ anymore, but to many (most) people in the world it is. It doesn’t change, it is the same Gospel that was preached in the 1st Century Roman Empire, and that is what we should be trying to say to people today, nothing more, nothing less. If same-sex marriage is something new, and not part of the original Gospel message (and it wasn’t last time I checked lol!) then it isn’t part of what we have to say to the world. We have a big enough job to do trying to preach the Gospel in a postmodern world, never mind getting caught up in these issues that are comparatively irrelevant- I wish we could all spend less time debating these things, and get on with what is reallly important. I will say it again- preaching the Gospel!!!!

    • frpip says:

      HI Katy

      Thanks for the response – it’s really important to me that I don’t just get the obligatory “that’s nice dear” responses from folk on this issue.
      I would argue that all issues concerning having life in abundance, in calling people to Christ, and in releasing them from their yolks of unnecessary burden, are Gospel issues. People feed the poor and heal the sick because of their understanding of the Gospel. Anyone trying to prevent them feed the poor and heal the sick are restricting the Gospel. Slavery is a Gospel issue because it prevents the fullness of life (by slavery I don’t mean the kind of tied servant displayed in Acts, but the horrific conditions of the African slaves in the 17th Century).
      Put another way, it is the Gospel which I believe means I am morally obliged as a priest to declare sacraments when I see them. In the baptism of a child, in the love displayed in a marriage, in the bread and wine of the altar, in the lifting of the burden of sin in confession – these are places where God is, and it is my duty to make that known. If I refuse to acknowledge where God is present, then I am simply not living out my own calling by God – and if the church as a whole refuses to acknowledge that God can be present in a specific type of person (as it certainly has done in the past) or even in a race, or in a sexuality, then we are limiting the omnipresent God into way in which we are comfortable with seeing Him.
      I have felt experienced very sharply the pain of those who feel that the church cannot see God in them; there are gay people who have had to set up churches, not so that can worship in a “gay” way, but simply because they have no-where else to go. That for me certainly is a gospel issue.

      • Katy T-S says:

        Actually funnily enough I don’t think the message that we should love everyone without discrimination- quite right of course- is one which we need to bring to the world, as generally discrimination is not seen as a very good thing anyway. The gay issue is a good example, as unfortunately I think the world probably has more to teach Christians about how to treat gay people than the other way around (a terrible indictment). But you specifically asked about the question of prophecy, and to me that suggests giving the world a message that it doesn’t already know, or maybe even goes against it. I think the Gospel does that, because it is so radical- in a way offensive even!

  2. frpip says:

    As I wrote, I think the church is still and can be prophetic both in terms of doctrinal belief and in terms of the outworking of that belief, ie good works. But where I think the gay marriage issue is prophesy is that it is something that rather coming from God, through the church, to society, it has come from God, through society, to the church. That’s why I think it is so important. Old Testament Judaism had a bad reputation of not listening to prophets. I don’t want to be a religion like that.

Leave a Reply

