Moving on – I’ve got a new job.

Hello all

This is a letter I sent out to my congregations this morning.

My Dear Family

It is now six months since Katie and I adopted Gavin. As you can imagine, this is a huge change in our life! And as you can also imagine, it has necessitated us to do some planning for the future. Gavin is currently at Nursery, and due to go to school next September. This has given us pause for thought in terms of where goes to school.This has meant that we needed to think about my future as Rector of St Peter’s and St Columba’s.

Bearing in mind these considerations, Katie and I decided with not a little regret, that it was time to start looking for a new post. To cut a long story short (if it is not already too late for that!) I have been offered, and accepted the post of Associate at Christ Church Morningside.

Being of an Anglo-catholic background, initially my hopes were to return to that form of worship. However I have learnt a good deal from my time at St Peter’s and St Columba’s, and I have realised that style of worship is much, much less important to me that the thing I have valued above all in my time with you. Which is people. In looking for a new church, I was looking for a community where I could love the congregation, and where hopefully that congregation could love me and my family – and in those bonds, the love of God could be a visible and dominant presence in our lives. I have every hope and expectation that Christ Church Morningside is just that: and for the experience which led me to apply for that job, I thank you all.

I have been blessed with my time in Bathgate and Linlithgow in so many ways that it would not be possible to go into them all. I have made mistakes: I have, no doubt, caused pain as well as joy, and I can only hope that you are compassionate enough to forgive my mistakes, as you have been gracious enough to commend me on my successes.

Before I came to Bathgate and Linlithgow, I asked my predecessor Ruth about the churches. She told me that they were congregations which were easy to love. I cannot think of a better recommendation for any church than that.

My final service will be on 1st January 2012 – a week after Christmas, and truly a time for all of new beginnings.

God bless you all.

About frpip

Priest, Dad, A long way away. You can call me Father Father Father.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving on – I’ve got a new job.

  1. David says:

    This makes me sad.

    I know you will be a blessing whomsoever God calls you to minister to.

  2. All the best to all of you! Hope these last few months go well

Leave a Reply

